THE SKINCARE EDITIONClearer information. More informed choices.Independent by design
PeptiveloBETA
PEPTIVELO / THE SKINCARE EDITION

Matrixyl 3000 vs Matrixyl synthe’6: what the names mean

Compare the peptide names behind Matrixyl 3000 and synthe’6, learn how to read a serum label, and understand what the names cannot tell you.

Draft guide — human editorial review pending

Source-based label explainer. Manufacturer and supplier descriptions; not independent product testing or clinical review.

Updated . Source consultation dates are listed below.

The short answer

Matrixyl 3000 and Matrixyl synthe’6 are different commercial ingredient systems. Croda lists Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1 and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7 in Matrixyl 3000, and Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38 in synthe’6. These names help identify ingredients; they do not establish which finished serum works better.[1][2]

At a glance

On narrow screens, scroll within the table to read all columns.

Commercial systems and the peptide names to recognize
Label detailMatrixyl 3000Matrixyl synthe’6
Selected peptide names[1][2]Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1 + Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38
Other components in the supplier INCI[1][2]The listed system also includes carriers and formulation components.The listed system also includes carriers and formulation components.
Can the name rank two finished serums?[1][2]No comparative product result is established by the name.No comparative product result is established by the name.

Start with the commercial name and the ingredient name

Matrixyl is a commercial family name. An INCI name is the name you look for in an ingredient list. Seeing “Matrixyl” on the front of a bottle is not enough to identify the particular ingredient system. Check the brand’s full description and exact ingredient list, then distinguish the system from the whole serum. Matching names can help you research a purchase, but they do not establish the supplier, grade or amount used in every product.[1][2]

Can one serum contain both systems?

Yes. Geek & Gorgeous identifies both systems in Power Peptides. The Ordinary Matrixyl 10% + HA lists the three peptide names associated with the two systems. These examples explain why a product called Matrixyl may list more than one peptide. Our catalog records only selected names: always check the complete current package, especially when comparing markets or reformulations.[3][4]

Why 3%, 2% and 10% do not form a strength ranking

A commercial system contains ingredients beyond the named peptide. A percentage describing that system is not automatically a percentage of pure peptide. To compare amounts fairly, you would need to know exactly what each percentage refers to and whether the basis is comparable. Individual amounts are often not disclosed. Do not add commercial numbers together and treat the total as a pure-peptide concentration.[1][2][3][4]

What the supplier information establishes

The supplier pages identify the ingredient systems and describe their intended cosmetic use. Their promotional statements are not an independent head-to-head test of the finished products in our catalog. This guide does not review the underlying studies or assign an efficacy winner. A blend description should not become a promise that any serum containing a related name will produce a particular result.[1][2]

Use the names to make a clearer comparison

Editorial interpretation

First identify the exact 30 mL product or other presentation you intend to buy. Then check its full label, directions, disclosed information and dated cost per mL. Shared peptide names may explain overlap, but they cannot show that two products are interchangeable. Use the linked product comparisons to inspect the specific records rather than choosing solely by the larger number or longer ingredient selection.[4][5][3]

Common questions

Is Matrixyl 3000 the same as Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38?

No. Croda’s Matrixyl 3000 listing names Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1 and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7. Its synthe’6 listing names Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38. Keep those identities separate.[1][2]

Does Matrixyl 10% + HA contain 10% of every peptide?

The product name does not establish that each listed peptide is present at 10%. The current recorded page does not disclose the separate amount of each peptide.[4]

Should I buy separate products for the two systems?

The names alone cannot answer that. One formula may already list related peptides. Check the complete formula and what you are trying to compare before assuming that adding another product provides an extra benefit.[4][3]

Your label-reading checklist

Editorial guidance
  • Match the exact peptide names rather than the word Matrixyl alone.
  • Keep commercial-system percentages separate from individual peptide amounts.
  • Choose a product comparison to inspect cost, directions and remaining unknowns.

Apply this to a real comparison

Product labels used in this guide

Compare your own prices per mL

Sources and their limits

Supplier and manufacturer references establish label facts. Academic references, where included, are identified separately with their scope. No source here establishes a winner between our finished serums.

  1. Supplier informationMatrixyl 3000: supplier description and ingredient names

    Croda Beauty · Reference checked

    Evidence and limitations for reference 1
    What this supports here
    Identifies the peptide names and other components in the supplier’s Matrixyl 3000 system.
    What it cannot establish
    Commercial supplier information. It does not identify the grade or amount in every serum and is not an independent comparison of finished products.
    Commercial context and disclosures
    Published by the ingredient supplier.
    What we inspected
    Public supplier page
  2. Supplier informationMatrixyl synthe’6 — supplier INCI and ingredient-system description

    Croda Beauty · Reference checked

    Evidence and limitations for reference 2
    What this supports here
    Identifies Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38 alongside other components in the supplier system.
    What it cannot establish
    The system’s name and INCI do not establish the pure-peptide concentration in a finished serum or prove superiority over another formula.
    Commercial context and disclosures
    Published by the ingredient supplier.
    What we inspected
    Public supplier page
  3. Manufacturer labelPower Peptides — US manufacturer label and 30 mL offer

    Geek & Gorgeous · Reference checked

    Evidence and limitations for reference 3
    What this supports here
    Supports the named commercial systems and their disclosed percentages in Power Peptides.
    What it cannot establish
    Commercial-system percentages do not establish the separate pure amount of each peptide or comparative product performance.
    Commercial context and disclosures
    Published by the seller and manufacturer.
    What we inspected
    Public US product page
  4. Manufacturer labelMatrixyl 10% + HA — US manufacturer label and 30 mL offer

    The Ordinary · Reference checked

    Evidence and limitations for reference 4
    What this supports here
    Supports the product name, selected ingredient identities and brand disclosures used here.
    What it cannot establish
    A label and a headline percentage are not an independent assay or a comparative clinical trial.
    Commercial context and disclosures
    Published by the seller and manufacturer.
    What we inspected
    Public US product page
  5. Manufacturer labelMulti-Peptide + HA Serum — US manufacturer label and 30 mL offer

    The Ordinary · Reference checked

    Evidence and limitations for reference 5
    What this supports here
    Supports the selected ingredient names and identity of Multi-Peptide + HA.
    What it cannot establish
    The checked label does not supply a separate amount for every peptide or independent comparative outcomes.
    Commercial context and disclosures
    Published by the seller and manufacturer.
    What we inspected
    Public US product page
UNDERSTAND THE LABEL

Make sense of the names and numbers.

Browse all label guides